DIY Organic Solid Body Bars

IMG_1659
Solid Body Bar

I love solid body bars. But, if you’re familiar with the concept they don’t come cheap. I love my friends. But, if you’re familiar with the concept, they don’t come cheap either during the holiday season! What to do? I’ve been wanting to do a DIY project for some time now, and after browsing Pinterest, I stumbled on a really easy recipe to make everyone happy.

Grocery List:

  • Cocoa butter (raw)
  • Coconut oil
  • Beeswax
IMG_1569
Solid Body Bar
  • Essential oils (I got a mix with a “sensual” theme)
IMG_1571
Solid Body Bar
  • Silicone molds
IMG_1572
Solid Body Bar

I purchased all of these things on amazon.com for a fairly good price.  It doesn’t matter how much you buy, as long as they are all the same because you use equal parts.

Steps:

Cut up equal parts of the coconut oil, cocoa butter, and beeswax (you can weigh it, or eyeball it) and put them in a metal or glass bowl in a double boiler. Side note: I learned that a double boiler in Spanish is a bano de Maria (Mary’s bath) which makes me giggle. AND moving on.

IMG_1570
Solid Body Bar

2) Once everything is nice and melty, add your essential oils. You can do lavender for relaxation, or citrus for energy. I wanted to be creepy and give my friends something sensual smelling. It’s made up of ylang-ylang, pachouli, jasmine,  and sandalwood. I found that I needed quite a bit of essential oil to combat the intense cocoa butter smell. If you have any essential oils left you can put a few drops on your radiators- it makes the whole house smell delicious.

3) Once everything is mixed up and melted, pour it into the silicone molds.

IMG_1573
Solid Body Bar

Wait for them to cool and, voila! Your very own body bar.

IMG_1575
Solid Body Bar

Since I was giving these as gifts for the holidays I also got little cellophane bags. Make it look nice, put a bow on it.

IMG_1658
Solid Body Bar
Leave a Reply

